Exchange Programmes


Erasmus ("European Community Action Scheme for the Mobility of University Students") is the European Commission's education programme for Higher Education students, teachers and institutions. It is named after the philosopher, theologian and humanist Erasmus of Rotterdam (1465-1536). The programme was first introduced in 1987 and its aim was to increase students mobility within the European Community. Subsequently, Erasmus was spread to the European Economic Area and Turkey. In 2007, Socrates, Leonardo da Vinci, and eLearning Programme, which expired at the end of 2006, were replaced by the new Lifelong Learning Programme 2007-2013.

Currently, the following countries participate in the Erasmus action of the Lifelong Learning Programme:

  • the 27 Member States of the European Union,
  • Iceland (EEA),
  • Liechtenstein (EEA),
  • Norway (EEA),
  • the Candidate Country of Turkey.

Erasmus is open to all types of higher education institutions, all levels of higher education study up to and including the doctorate and all academic disciplines. Nowadays, more than 150,000 people benefit each year from the programme. Erasmus has developed beyond just being an educational programme; it has reached the status of a social and cultural phenomenon. The European Commission hopes to reach a total of 3 million of Erasmus beneficiaries by 2012.

AGH University of Science and Technology participates in the Erasmus Programme since 1998 while the Department of Computer Science takes part in the programme since late 1999.

Make sure you check the list of courses available in English:

Statistics on Erasmus participants


Copyright © 2010 Department of Computer Science   |   AGH University of Science and Technology   |   Created by Creative Bastards